Phases of Matter (2004) 17′
for soprano, 2 perc, and string orchestra (55432)

to the poem Seven Strophes by Josef Brodsky

Premiered 29.8.2006, Copenhagen, Ung Nordisk Musik
Maria Hanke, soprano
Copenhagen Youth Strings
Christian Kluxen, cond.

Phases of Matter is a thoroughly polyphonic work, whose limited thematic materials crystallize gradually over the course of their exposition.